Matters Raising Children

Pastor Mike, our youth pastor always tells us ‘raise the child well you just never know what he/she may become’. How true this is. I wonder how many of the parents looking at their children today can say that I knew he/she will turn out this way and thus raised them in line with what they are today. Or looking at them today, one is thinking that had I known this is what they were to become I would have done something a bit different. I am also wondering how many of the parents whose children are deviant today can say that I raised them well. It’s written in the Holy Bible that Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.  And I want to say that whichever way you choose to teach your children may it be such that when they behave that way in future you’ll be glad that they never departed from that way. One expert in Matters Raising Children says that there is no guaranteed set of methods which when employed will guarantee that children “turn out all right”. Rather parents are to do everything possible in the hope of their children “turning out all right”.

And my question is as you bring up your children what you are preparing them for.  What is the Vision 2040 for your children?

Im not an expert in matters Raising Children because I have 2 children one four years old and the other one is one and a half years; however having taught Sunday school for some years there are things I have learnt through this journey and I hope to share them in subsequent posts. But I am also looking forward to be engaged by those of you who are more experienced in Matters Raising Children. Like my boss who always says that you haven’t parented until you parent a teenager!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michael Likhali on February 28, 2012 at 4:12 am

    Parenting is one tough assignment.

    I have met parents who have done everything right, yet their children are a disappointment to them today. Also, there are those parents who put in little effort to raising their children yet those children turn out to be wonderful people. Even with this observation, a parent must do the right thing. This to me is three fold.

    First, a parent must always have a large blanket of love. Personally, I want my children always to know that I love them. Yes they might do things that ashame me, but these actions do not remove them from this wide blanket. That is why I afirm them is speech and touch. I note the positive and speak it out and lay my hands on them in prayer. Sometimes, I carry them up. My relationship with them is best built at this tender age. I separe their actions from them. I love them, no matter what, and they know this.

    Secondly, a parent should have a circle of boundaries. This marks how far the children can go with their actions. At this age, my son cannot get into the bathroom, it is dangerous for him, however my daughter can but she cannot pour water from one basin to another. As they grow, the circle becomes wider to. Also, more items are included with growth. We tackle how to relate with relatives, neighbours, friends etc. Basically, it is about what to do, how and when. This defines discpline. For now, I set the standards, with time, I will seek their input.

    Finally, I must give direction to my children. This is so key. For me, I have one guide of standards i.e The Bible. How I desire and I will go to great lengths to ensure my children study it, know it and practise it, as stated in Ezra. This is the best guide, It has worked for me, It will for them.

    Reply

    • I agree with you, love them, set boundaries, teach them the scripture and pray over them. Mmmh… i think i have something to write about on future posts. Even as i think about those parents who don’t set boundaries as part of loving their children and those who do not know about scripture and prayer… But as Dr. Mukolwe of Raising the Next Generation puts it, there is need for a Manual on Parenting as opposed to Childrening.

      Reply

  2. […] Matters Raising Children (raisechildren.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponEmailDiggPrintTumblrRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

